• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 261 other subscribers
  • Quote

    "It doesn't matter whether you want the markets to rise or fall - they sing to their own tune and if you're not listening to the markets tune your money is at stake" The Hovis Trader
  • Archives

  • Categories

Gann Series – PRE-Intro

Keep an eye out for my new Gann Series – Introduction coming towards the end of this month – It will be ad-hoc posting over the course of time as it’s something extra I plan to do.

It will be an “eye-opener” to make you think, explore and research for yourself – I’m NOT a Gann Expert – I know enough to know that in his course’s and books he actually revealed very little about his true method (and I don’t know his true method!) I am sure a few thousand people around the globe do know his precise methods from their research but researching those people would also take you decades of time! – Some may be well-known, I don’t need to know as I’m not that interested in subscribing to this or that or other peoples books.

I’m NOT knocking Gann – his methods he details in his courses and books are still more informative, interesting AND relevant than most of the trading/Investing books published since his time – which says something about today’s authors/traders etc!

For ME, all I want is to know the significant trend direction for the next X years so that I can have that into my mind when trading – I only trade LONG too – I think I’ve found that with my personal cycle analysis of the 17 yr cycle – this can then be broken down in smaller cycles BUT where my cycle analysis FAILS, is it does NOT tell me whether a cycle turn will be UP or DOWN, so you have to trade warily of that fact.

For me I would love to know and understand Gann’s true methods, but I doubt I’d change the way I trade, it would just enhance my confidence in positions if you knew when they should end etc.

My style of writing is to the point and very direct – I’ve read too many books [98% of which have been binned] that are filled with rubbish info with only 5-10 pages of essential info – just give me a book with the 5-10 pages of good stuff then!

If you make 20% a year from Investing/Trading you’ll do very well over the years due to the compound nature of money – I’ve shown you over the past few months that you can make decent returns by trading/Investing simply using market FACTS – See my pages on FTSE250/Nasdaq100 & Gold using a very simple method.

Unfortunately people don’t make money trading – they use methods such as moving averages, Elliott Wave Analysis and Indicators and think that they’ll work just because a book selling them info is published “so it must work”!!!!!!

In Gann’s courses he details LOTS of stats on the market, lots of stats on bull and bear markets etc and he also gives you basics to trade – I use one of his methods very successfully, as it catches trends and bottoms nicely – BUT if I put all his dates/time cycles on my charts I’d have loads of potential turn dates overlapping one another and no definite date to watch – you can’t use this to risk money on (well I can’t and won’t anyway) – Over the course of the series we’ll be extracting bits from his course to analyse and test in current markets to show you – the Law of averages (this is NOT a NATURAL LAW) says that some will work and some won’t – we’ll see when we look at that blog post in the months ahead.

As you’ll figure out as we go through this series – most of Gann’s work was generalisations – he hid his true work as you’ll see.

Watch out for the Intro post coming to you this month.

Until then happy trading and wishing you every success in all parts of your life.

 

 

Leave a comment

Comment Here:

  • Visitors to blog

    • 128,572 Views