S*** Happens

I also think it’s very important to show you examples of when things don’t work out quite how I wanted them to.

Most of the detail is on the chart below.

ALL my trading rules were in place for this trade on the 15th March 2017 – I nearly skipped the trade but decided to alter my stop position to make it worthwhile (usually my stop would be under the LOW of Monday 13th March, but I deemed the range of risk too much) Hence why I moved it up to the low of the 14th March.

Anyway – I was sat at my computer 8am awaiting the open – my trading account forces me to set an entry level and then a min of 1% range above that entry level – This sucker GAPPED open over that buy order level and the 1% range and it did not retrace to it that day = the trade was voided and cancelled without hesitation – I’ve missed out on profits and wasted part of a day tracking this one – for zilch!

The trade worked but without me on board – This stuff happens you just have to live with it.  Also you will have trades that take you in and then stop you straight back out again too! Part and parcel to trading baby.

The So-Called Experts will tell you risk is the most important factor – it is very important – but you can see I didn’t even enter this trade through absolutely no fault of my own, the Entry is JUST as Important as the stop and therefore RISK.

This is my THT Trampoline trading set-up – yet to be made available as I’m still writing the course!

83

Now this one will make you smile but it makes my stomach churn just thinking about it – this happened very very recently and I’m still fuming about it:

  1. I’m transferring my pension fund  – complicated story but to be able to continue to trade it I had to transfer it – that process has taken months!  So I thought I’d be safe taking a trade seen as it had taken ages to process! How wrong was I!
  2. The chart below shows that I entered a position on this stock on the Green line (price and date) my stop was the red line less a couple of pennies
  3. The market went up then back down – on the 27th March 2017 my Pension company decided it would be OK to dis-invest this position from my fund as they were now ready to transfer it to my new pension provider! Why they didn’t transfer it in-species with the position still intact I will never know – fucking idiots! Yes I am complaining so we’ll see what happens
  4. You can see what the share thereafter did – without me on board!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. It’s actually made about 6R – If risking 2% of account that is a return of 12% – you don’t need too many of them to make a decent return for the year!
  6. I cannot tell you that after years of doing this, just how mad, sick and upset looking at that chart knowing I was on board but someone else took me out of the trade – this one will stick with me for years!  It won’t affect my next trade but I’ll remember it!
  7. you see crap happens to us ALL – Professionals, Newbies and established Investors

84

Leave a comment

Comment Here:

